Virginia Water Faculty

This is a listing of faculty members at Virginia universities that specialize in water resources. If you would like to have your name added to this list, please contact the Water Center staff at water@vt.edu. Faculty may also be added to our email distribution list by contacting Kevin McGuire.

Faculty NameDepartment/UniversityResearch Interests
Changwoo Ahn
cahn@gmu.edu
Environmental Science and Policy/George Mason UniversityWetland ecosystem ecology, ecological engineering, wetland creation and restoration
Mike Aust
waust@vt.edu
Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation/Virginia TechEffects of forestry best management practices (BMPs) on water quality, riparian forests and water quality, management of forested wetlands
Fred Benfield
benfield@vt.edu
Biological Sciences/Virginia TechStream ecology
Brian Benham
benham@vt.edu
Biological Systems Engineering/Virginia Tech

Nonpoint source pollution control, watershed modeling, household quality


Gregory Boardman
gboard@vt.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering/Virginia Tech

Industrial waste treatment, water and wastewater treatment, environmental toxicology, aquaculture


Dean R. Bork
drbork@vt.edu
Landscape Architecture/Virginia Tech

Watershed sensitive site design/planning, low impact development, stormwater management
Darrell Bosch
bosch@vt.edu
Agricultural and Applied Economics/Virginia Tech

Water quality, cost, economic incentives
Paul A. Bukaveckas
pabukaveckas@vcu.edu

Center for Environmental Studies/Virginia Commonwealth University
Harmful algal blooms, nutrient cycling, rivers
Tom Burbey
tjburbey@vt.edu
Geosciences/Virginia Tech
Hydrogeology, aquifer mechanics, land subsidence
Karen Bushaw-Newton
kbushaw@nvcc.edu

Biology and Natural Sciences/Northern Virginia community College
Aquatic microbial ecology, biogeochemistry, stream restoration and dam removal
Cayelan Carey
cayelan@vt.edu
Biological Sciences/
Virginia Tech
Limnology, lake and reservoir ecology, water quality, biogeochemistry, plankton, diatoms
Kelly Cobourn
kellyc13@vt.edu

Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation/
Virginia Tech
Water resource economics, water rights, management of surface water and groundwater, irrigation
Bernard J. Cosby
bjc4a@virginia.edu

Environmental Sciences/ University of Virginia
Biogeochemistry, environmental modelling, catchment science
William Cox
cox@vt.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering/Virginia Tech
Water law, water resources planning, water policy
Joanna Crowe Curran
curran@virginia.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering/University of Virginia

River engineering, sediment transport mechanics, river hydraulics, dam removal
Jonathan A. Czuba
jczuba@vt.edu 

Biological Systems Engineering /Virginia Tech
River/floodplain morphodynamics, river hydraulics, sediment transport, dam removal, watershed modeling
W. Lee Daniels
wdaniels@vt.edu
Crop and Soil Environmental Sciences/Virginia Tech
Mining impacts on water quality, wetland creation and restoration, land application of wastes, water quality
Brenda Davy
bdavy@vt.edu

Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise/Virginia Tech
Water and beverage intake, dietary assessment, obesity prevention and treatment
Kevin P. Davy
kdavy@vt.edu
Human Nutrition, Foods and Exercise/Virginia Tech

Investigating the role of water and beverage consumption in obesity prevention and treatment, and assessing beverage intake patterns
Andrea Dietrich
andread@vt.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering/Virginia Tech

Water quality and water treatment, sensory analysis of odorous compounds
Paul A. Dirmeyer
pdirmeye@gmu.edu
Dept. of Atmospheric, Oceanic and Earth Sciences/George Mason University
Land-atmosphere interaction, global water and energy cycles, numerical modeling, water and climate
Susan E. Duncan
duncans@vt.edu

Food Science and Technology/Virginia Tech
Water quality related to effect on food/beverage quality, sensory perception, and consumer choice and behavior
Randel Dymond
dymond@vt.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering/Virginia TechSustainable land development, urban stormwater quality and quantity, geographic information systems
Zachary Easton
zeaston@vt.edu
Biological Systems Engineering/Virginia Tech
Hydrology, water quality, watershed modeling
Marc Edwards
edwardsm@vt.edu

Civil and Environmental Engineering/Virginia Tech

Corrosion, aquatic chemistry, engineering ethics
Drew Ellis
awellis@vt.edu
Geography/Virginia Tech

Hydroclimatic variability and change, drought, water resource sustainability
Joseph O. Falkinham, III
jofiii@vt.edu
Biological Sciences/Virginia Tech

Epidemiology and ecology of Nontuberculous Mycobacteria (NTM) Role of bacteria in Mn-cycling in water distribution systems
Daniel Gallagher
dang@vt.edu

Civil and Environmental Engineering/Virginia Tech

Environmental statistics and data analysis, risk assessment, food safety, environmental modeling and simulation
Joseph Garcia
garciaje@longwood.edu

Biological and Environmental Sciences/
Longwood University
Human impacts on fluvial systems, historical Piedmont erosion, fluvial geomorphology and statigraphy
Adil Godrej
agodrej@vt.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering/Virginia Tech

Environmental modelling and simulation, nonpoint pollution monitoring and control
Conrad Heatwole
heatwole@vt.edu
Biological Systems Engineering/Virginia Tech

Hydrology, watershed modeling, geospatial analysis
W. Cully Hession
chession@vt.edu

Biological Systems Engineering/Virginia Tech

Channel morphology, sediment transport and fate, stream restoration
Erich Hester
ehester@vt.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering /Virginia Tech

Stream and river hydraulics, ecosystem restoration, water quality
Erin R. Hotchkiss
ehotchkiss@vt.edu

Biological Sciences/Virginia Tech
Stream and river ecology, limnology, biogeochemistry, water quality
Paul R. Houser
phouser@gmu.edu

Geography and Geoinformation Sciences/George Mason University
Land surface-atmospheric remote sensing, in-situ simulation, hydrologic data assimilation, global water and energy cycling
Luke Juran
ljuran@vt.edu

Geography/
Virginia Tech
Sustainable water-resources management; household water-treatment and safe storage; hydro-social cycle; water–hazards interface; human-nature interactions
David Kibler
kiblerdf@vt.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering/Virginia Tech

Urban hydrology, stormwater management, flood forecasting, hydraulic structures
Karen Kline
klinek@vt.edu
Biological Systems Engineering/Virginia Tech

Water quality modeling, watershed management, TMDLs
William Knocke
knocke@vt.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering/Virginia Tech

Physical-chemical treatment of water and wastewater, chemistry of aquatic systems, sludge treatment and disposal


Leigh-Anne Krometis
krometis@vt.edu

Biological Systems Engineering/Virginia Tech

Indicator bacteria, public health, rural drinking water
Yanna Lambrinidou
yanna@vt.edu
Science and Technology Studies/Virginia Tech Northern Virginia Center

Lead in drinking water policy,
science and engineering ethics,
public participation in environmental science research
Theo Lim
tclim@vt.edu
Urban Affairs and Planning/ Virginia TechIntegrated land/water resource planning and management, green infrastructure, urban planning, environmental policy
Erin Ling
ejling@vt.edu
Biological Systems Engineering/Virginia Tech

Private water supplies (wells, springs, and cisterns), drinking water and human health, behavior change and water quality impacts
John Little
jcl@vt.edu

Civil and Environmental Engineering/Virginia Tech

Emissions from building materials, hypolimnetic oxygenation of stratified lakes and reservoirs
Christine May
maycl@jmu.edu

Biology/James Madison University

Stream ecology, ecogeomorphology, ecohydrology
Karen McGlathery
kjm4k@virginia.edu

Environmental Sciences/University of Virginia

Aquatic ecology, biogeochemical controls on estuarine nutrient dynamics, ecophysiology of algae and seagrasses, marine conservation and management.
Kevin McGuire
kevin.mcguire@vt.edu

Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation/Virginia Tech

Hydrology, watershed management, biogeochemistry
Daniel McLaughlin
mclaugd@vt.edu

Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation/Virginia Tech
Ecohydrology, wetland and stream processes, emerging environmental sensors, watershed hydrology, biogeomorphology
Saied Mostaghimi
smostagh@vt.edu

CALS Research/Virginia TechNonpoint source pollution control, environmental impact assessment
Joanna Mott
mottjb@jmu.edu

Biology Department/
James Madison University
Applied environmental microbiology, water quality, microbial/bacteria source tracking, fecal indicators and pathogens, antibiotic resistance
Don Orth
orth@vt.edu

Fish and Wildlife Conservation/Virginia TechStream habitat management, environmental flows, fish population analysis
James Parkhurst
jparkhur@vt.edu
Fish and Wildlife Conservation/Virginia Tech

Wetland ecology and management, wetland wildlife management, wetland creation and restoration
Jim Pease
peasej@vt.edu

Agricultural and Applied Economics/Virginia Tech

Farm and watershed modeling, economics of best management practices, water policy
Amy Pruden-Bagchi
apruden@vt.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering/Virginia Tech

Applied environmental microbiology, antibiotic resistance, mine drainage remediation
Cliff Randall
cliff@vt.edu

Civil and Environmental Engineering/Virginia Tech

Biological nutrient removal, eutrophication, industrial wastewater treatment, water pollution control
David Sample
dsample@vt.edu

Biological Systems Engineering/Virginia Tech

Stormwater management, modeling, design
Todd Scanlon
tms2v@virginia.edu

Environmental Sciences
/University of Virginia
Land-atmosphere interaction, catchment hydrology, ecohydrology
Stephen Schoenholtz
schoenhs@vt.edu

Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation/Virginia Tech

Forest hydrology, watershed management, water quality, biogeochemistry, soil science
Madeline Schreiber
mschreib@vt.edu

Geosciences
/Virginia Tech
Hydrology, geochemistry
Durelle Scott
dscott@vt.edu

Biological Systems Engineering/Virginia Tech

Ecohydrology, biogeochemistry, water quality
Julie Shortridge
jshortridge@vt.edu

Biological Systems Engineering/Virginia Tech

Climate change adaptation, water infrastructure planning, disaster preparedness and impacts assessment, coupled natural-human systems
Sunil Sinha
ssinha@vt.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering/Virginia Tech

Water infrastructure systems, asset management, infrastructure rehabilitation, pipelines
James A. Smith
jsmith@virginia.edu

Civil and Environmental Engineering/University of Virginia

Water, pathogens, nanosilver
Leonard Smock
lsmock@vcu.edu

Biology/Virginia
Commonwealth University
Stream and wetland ecology, macroinvertebrates, bioassessment
Venkat Sridhar
vsri@vt.edu

Biological Systems Engineering/Virginia TechClimate change impact assessments, hydrological modeling, water management and decision support
Meredith Steele
steelem@vt.edu

Crop and Soil Environmental Science/Virginia Tech

Water Quality and quantity, ecosystem services, urbanization, biogeochemical cycling
Kurt Stephenson
kurts@vt.edu
Agricultural and Applied Economics/Virginia Tech

water resource economics and policy, nutrient credit trading, stormwater management, incentives to reduce nutrient runoff
Ryan Stewart
ryan.stewart@vt.edu

Crop and Soil Environmental Science/Virginia Tech

Critical zone processes, vadose zone hydrology, soil physics
Brian D. Strahm
brian.strahm@vt.edu

Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation/Virginia Tech

Biogeochemistry, terrestrial-aquatic linkages, watershed management, soil science, nutrient dynamics

Kyle Strom
strom@vt.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering / Virginia TechRiver Mechanics, Environmental Hydraulics, Sediment Transport, Geomorphology, Environmental Fluid Mechanics, and Experimental Methods.
R. Quinn Thomas
rqthomas@vt.edu
Forest Resources and Environmental Conservation/Virginia Tech

Biogeochemistry, climate change, land-atmosphere interactions, ecosystem-climate feedbacks, modeling of ecosystems and Earth systems
Theresa Wynn Thompson
tthompson@vt.edu
Biological Systems Engineering/Virginia Tech
Stream and wetland restoration, streambank erosion, urban stream systems
Peter J. Vikesland
pvikes@vt.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering/Virginia Tech

Effects of climate change; evaporation from water-limited soils; hydrology-soil-vegetation interactions in changing climate; stormwater, groundwater
Richard Whittecar
rwhittec@odu.edu
Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences/Old Dominion University
Wetland geology and hydrology
Mark A. Widdowson
mwiddows@vt.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering/Virginia Tech

Groundwater modeling, contaminant transport, monitored natural attentuation, bioremediation, phytoremediaiton, hydrology and hydraulics
Mary Leigh Wolfe
mlwolfe@vt.edu

Biological Systems Engineering/Virginia Tech

Hydrologic modeling, NPS pollution control, watershed management
Kang Xia kxia@vt.eduSchool of Plant and Environmental Sciences/Virginia TechEnvironmental occurrence, fate, and impact of organic compounds including pesticides, emerging contaminants; Water treatment technologies, animal manure and biosolids best management.
Jaewan Yoon
jyoon@odu.edu
Civil and Environmental Engineering/Old Dominion University

Meso- and macro-scale water quality in freshwater and estuarine domains
Wei Zhang wzb@vt.eduAgricultural and Applied Economics/Virginia TechAgricultural water use, conservation programs, and water quality
Stephanie Zick
sezick@vt.edu
Geography/Virginia Tech

Tropical meteorology & hurricanes precipitation, numerical weather prediction radar meteorology, shape analysis

Comments are closed.